And now let’s pause for a brief (ha!) intermission

Bronze and gray plaid silk taffeta day dress c1860s. Old Sacramento Living History Museum Collection.

Bronze and gray plaid silk taffeta day dress c1860s. Old Sacramento Living History Museum Collection.

Wisdom goes that the one thing you can plan on is that the plan will not go as expected. Oh, ’tis true. A few things have happened since my last post and I couldn’t keep up with it all. Hy house went on the market today. I am finishing moving into a lovely rental. My dear, sweet, best-dog-ever, Peanut, lost his battle with a vicious lung infection. I’ve been distracted, stressed, exhausted and grief-stricken. But life does indeed go on, and so it has.

At this point, relative calm has returned. Which is good because the first event deadline approacheth. Quickly.

On the plus side, I now have everything I need. Fabric is washed and pre-shrunk. Twill tape, lining, underlining, thread – check. Chemise, hoop crinoline, under-hoop petticoat, over-hoop petticoat, drafty drawers- check. Corset – check. I freely admit to cheating with the stockings: I can’t use over-the-knee rolled garters, so I’m using knee socks and hope the petticoats will do their job. Bonnet and hat patiently await their trimmings.

So really, all I have to do is make a skirt, using a gathering technique I’ve never used before. Make a pocket. Then fit, sew, line and underline a bodice. Trim a bonnet and trim a hat.

If it were only that easy.

26 days to go and fingers crossed. Now where did I put my sewing machine…?

