Fledgling Regency Fashion Detective

1806 dress with puff decorations

1806 dress with puff decorations

Way back, on July 9th, when I wrote And the Winner is… I included the image above. Green as I am, and was, I questioned the sparse information provided – the caption was all I had to go on.

It bothered me that this wonderful piece of handwork was dated 1806. I’d learned enough to know that 1806 gowns were simpler and less “fussy” (for lack of a better word) and that by the 1820’s they’d become highly decorated and embellished. What I knew and what I was seeing weren’t compatible. But I couldn’t find any other information about the piece and so, being the new kid, I held my tongue (fingers?) and presented the information as I found it.

Then yesterday, whilst trolling through Pinterest, I came across this:

1820 dress detail

1820 dress detail

1820. Now THAT made a heck of a lot more sense. So I offer the corrected (hopefully) information, although it is still scant. I’m still hunting this one down and hope I can find more information.

I fear this is turning into a bit of a creepy obsession with cotton poufs…

