Progress on the Regency Long Stays

Toile for Regency long stays, front

Toile for Regency long stays, front

Once I’d settled down from my Post-Traumatic-Fabric-Experience (the Mounds Bars, Coke and overnight recuperation did the trick) I went back to working on the long stays. I have to get the girls out of the sinkhole. I basted on the sides, put in the hips gussets, pinned on the back and had another go. It took a bit of fiddling and fussing, but doesn’t it always?

Regency long stays, front right hip gussets

Regency long stays, front right hip gussets

Regency long stays, left front hip gussets

Regency long stays, left front hip gussets

Lowered the center front hip gussets just a bit.

Lowered the center front hip gussets just a bit.

The best results came from dropping the inner front hip gussets just a teeny bit, and pulling in the outer bust gussets just a tad, and trimming about 1/8th inch off the side seams at the underarms.

Now the girls can extend (pun absolutely intended) their warmest greeting to Lord Lusty-Breeches.

I was reading a blog earlier today by a seamstress who is/was also creating Regency attire. She is muuuch more endowed than I am and she managed to get the perfect shelf effect and it was pretty darned impressive, my friends. If she did, so can I.

One of the things that took forever to decide (before getting in line) on Fabric Frenzy Friday was what to use for the outer fabric. I’d already done a white corset. I wanted color! The precedent for doing so is documented in fashion plates and extant stays, so I thought why the heck not? There was a jewel tone blue and silver brocade that I fell in love with. There was a very nice embroidered brocade with every color I’d ever want. I found purple and white stripes. An orange floral that was, mostly, period appropriate. This was going gonna my most colorful “corset” ever!!!

And then a thought wafted ever so gently through my mind.

This is Regency. Breezy, gauzy, ever-so-transparent-white Regency. If I use dark colors, I may as well just wear the stays on the outside and be done with it. The “nude” prints were in nasty colors. The whites were boring. And then a miracle occurred…the perfect balance between pattern, breathe-ability and invisibility:

Regency long stays, outer fabric.

Regency long stays, outer fabric.

Happy? Yes, so very am I.

