Show-offs Need Not Apply

peacock2

While going over my blog pages the other day, I came to the “My Collection” page and suddenly felt uncomfortable. Why the urge to show you what I have? At first it was just the excitement of owning genuine Victorian items and, quite literally, being able to walk in their shoes. However, now it feels like bragging – Hey, look what I have! Nyanyanyanyanya.

Rare Georgian Vinaigrette Garnet Ring - The Three Graces (sold)

Rare Georgian Vinaigrette Garnet Ring – The Three Graces (sold)

And that is not the purpose of this blog. Far from it. This is about learning the construction of period-accurate clothing. Not slap-dash costumes, but genuine clothing that is properly made and will last through lots of wearing. “Hey, guys, look at the neat (fill in the blank) I just got” doesn’t do it. This is meant to be about process, not stuff. Unless, of course, it’s a historic pattern or period-appropriate fabric, in which case there is no escape. Trust me.

So the “Collection” page has come down.

Wear the appropriate attire when reading out of doors. 1811.

Wear the appropriate attire when reading out of doors. 1811.

In its place will be a “Reference Library”  with not just my current library of inspirations and rescue/salvation tips for the wayward seamstress. It will also list texts that are either on my wish list or are highly recommended or both.

Stay tuned – it’s under construction.

