The 2014 Historical Sew Fortnightly

HSF 2014 image

I tried the HSF this year and I didn’t last. I joined too late with too many things going on and just plain crumpled.

But having more interest than sense, or perhaps a robust masochistic streak, I am signing on for 2014. The first four challenges are:

  • #1: Make Do & Menddue Wed 15 Jan. Let’s start of the year with a clean slate, and with a bit of a tidy up.  Use this challenge as an opportunity to get your historical wardrobe in order by fixing any little bits that have worn out and gone wrong.  Alternatively, you could focus on the historical precedent of making-do by re-making something into a historical garments, whether it be a bodice from a worn-out skirt, a chemise from old sheets, a bosom-friend from an old cardigan, or a new historical hat from an old modern one etc.  Finally, you could just those people who had to make-do by making something for a historical character who would have scrimped and saved and re-made and mended until the fabric entirely fell apart.
  • #2: Innovation – due Sat 1 Feb.  To celebrate the way inventions, introductions and discoveries have impacted fashion, make an item that reflects the newest innovations in your era.  Be sure to share the research you did on your innovation, as well as your finished item.
  • #3: Pink – due Sat 15 Feb.  Make something pink!
  • #4: Under it All – due Sat 1 March.  Make the foundations of your outfit: the things that go under it to provide the right shape and support, and to protect your fancy outer garments from sweat and grime.

My project for Challenge #1 is already in progress. I have one vintage Victorian and two vintage Edwardian petticoats that need mending.

Challenge #2, Innovation, is a bit of a stumper for the moment. Research is underway.

Challenge #3, Pink. I don’t do well in pastel colors – they completely wash me out. However I found some raspberry-ish pink yarn in an era-correct shade and will work up one of my historic knit or crochet patterns.

As you can see, #4 will ensure the completion of the blasted Regency Long Stays by March 1st. The interruptions are driving me crazy…I want the stays done!!

Tomorrow will feature photos for the HSF Challenge #1.

