Small Sacrifices

(Original source unknown. Please let me know if it is yours.)

(Original source unknown. Please let me know if it is yours.)

I have a friend with a ginormous problem on her hands. I can’t go into details, but she’s been staying with me for many days and is living in my dining alcove, which is also my sewing space. It’s a small sacrifice for a friend who is truly in need.

It means deferring my machine sewing but, as you may have guessed, it’s not like I don’t have anything else to do.

Tonight I’ll finish HSF 2014’s first challenge: Make Do and Mend. The two Edwardian flannel petticoats are finished (reinforce waistband stitching, mend a tear, replace deteriorated and crumbling elastic (invented in 1820, so entirely kosher in these vintage garments) at the waist, and steam out the deformed waistband that resulted from torqued and crumbling elastic.

The final huzzah is finishing up the Victorian petticoat: tears, split, some pretty dodgy vintage mending, and some holes. Some areas are requiring large patches, but that’s what would have been done.

Here are some ‘befores” –

And here are the finished flannel petticoats –

HSF Challenge #1 will be done, and on time no less, in about an hour. (Only 25 more to go! I feel tired already.)

Challenge #2 is Innovation, due Sat 1 Feb. “To celebrate the way inventions, introductions and discoveries have impacted fashion, make an item that reflects the newest innovations in your era.” I like a few different eras, and this one is proving to be a toughie. Initial research hasn’t yet sparked a flame, but I’ll keep searching.

2 thoughts on “Small Sacrifices

  1. Elastic counts as an innovation, does it not? I don’t know which part of the Edwardian era you do, but Rayon came to be in 1914 (too late?) Those S-bend corsets were considered innovative and “healthy.” Bloomers for sporting and bicycling? Maybe you can merge this challenge with the Pink challenge, or start something for another challenge that will take more than two weeks?

    Now, if you have any innovative suggestions for 1770s, I’d love to hear them. 🙂

    • Thanks for the idea – I hadn’t thought of elastic (early Victorian invention). As it turns out, machine-made lace is working out well and I’m almost done. The “Pink” challenge is definitely Edwardian drawers.

      As for innovations in the 1770’s, that’s a lot harder. So far all I know about are: bifocal lenses for eyeglasses, the cotton gin – a good candidate!, the spinning jenny – another one with potential, the guillotine (a French revolutionary or French royalty), the hot air balloon (under the panniers, maybe?), the sandwich (a cook?), time zones (sailor?), the steam engine (for the cotton gin), mayonnaise (back to the cook?), and some other stuff that would be even harder to incorporate, like carbonated water. 😉 Good luck! If I think of, or come across, any more I’ll let you know.

Comments are closed.