HSF #3 Challenge Teaser – Anachronistic Knickers

http://www.blushingbellesblog.com/category/color-pallets

(click picture for link)

The third Historical Sew Fortnightly Challenge is Pink.

However, for reasons unknown to me, it has tweaked my rebellious side. I am making open, French drawers from a historically accurate pattern.

1904 Ladies' Elegant Open Longer Drawers. Pattern # 1904-A-002. Copyright Edwardian Rose 2008 / Copyright The Fashion Archaeologist 2008

1904 Ladies’ Elegant Open Longer Drawers. Pattern # 1904-A-002. Copyright Edwardian Rose 2008 / Copyright The Fashion Archaeologist 2008

They will most definitely be pink. With soft, lacy ruffles trimming the hems. But as I was roaming through my fabric stash and dithering something hit a nerve and my decision was instantaneous.

I don’t want to conform with this project.

Oh sure, the pattern is period-correct. It’s beautiful, looks quite comfy and is just what I want. However, I am expecting a lot of people will less than pleased with my fabric choice: a very modern print honoring a very old weave. And done in shades of pink that will…uh…surprise and amaze. Or repulse and disgust. We shall see.

2 thoughts on “HSF #3 Challenge Teaser – Anachronistic Knickers

  1. Unless you go around flashing your historical underthings, no one really needs to know what you’re wearing. As for the fact you’re posting about it, all we/they know is that you made it, not that you’re wearing it.

    • Exactly! And no, I’m not a flasher so the evidence of my wrong-doing shall stay hidden. I confess, though, that once in a while I’ll be wearing them just for the fun of it as my little secret. 🙂

Comments are closed.