Underway and “Due” Today (HSF #2)

Ageless Patterns #1530-2

Ageless Patterns #1530-2

Fortunately for me, who is making this fichu, and for all of you, who are reading about same, things are going really well. This may turn out to be my favorite pattern – there are only two pieces (left and right). It has been really fun so far and it’s giving me the chance to play around with trims and froufrous and the like. The only downside being that I have a tendency to get so caught up in playing with the options that I run off the rails and the actual doing falls behind.

Guilty, once again. Lucky for me, even though it’s due today I have until February 1st to post the finished project. No sweat.

The idea for this project came from the challenge category and from a 1870 photo that was pure inspiration. I’ve had this image for quite a while. Once I chose machine-made lace as the innovation, the photo did the rest.

Hungarian woman wearing a beautiful fichu, c. 1870.

Hungarian woman wearing a beautiful fichu, c. 1870.

This is the photo that gave me an appreciation of just how much impact a fichu can have on a “plain’ dress. Look at the detail! White lace. Colored lace. Ruffles. Trims. Ribbon. What an absolutely fabulous wardrobe accessory. No wonder women of the time were advised to add many of these to their trousseau.

I was going to include pictures of the project to date, but our little seaport is swathed in a dark fog this morning and every photo turns out flat and grey. Hopefully the sun will burn through this afternoon so I can add the work-in-progress shots.

