The end is in sight!

Victorian Street Telescope Exhibitor, 1861-62.

Street Telescope Exhibitor, 1861-62.

I could have made this post earlier, but my uploaded photos went missing again in the Cloud-o-Sphere until now. The fichu is soooo close to done and I’m even more excited. I love the creative process. Here’s what’s happened since yesterday’s post

I started building the left front in layers, just as I did the right, and did a visual check for symmetry and to see how the front closure overlap will look:

Front of fichu, showing look of final overlap. Left half 3/4 finished.

Front of fichu, showing look of final overlap. Left half 3/4 finished.

I finished layering the left half and aligned the center back seam:

Left and right halves done. Center back seam aligned.

Left and right halves done. Center back seam aligned.

I hand-sewed the center back seam to ensure the halves mirrored each other accurately, then I continued the first row of black lace along the neck edge:

Center back sewn together. Inner neck ruffle in place.

Center back sewn together. Inner neck ruffle in place.

I liked the look so much, I decided to do a mirror reverse for the back neck edge:

Second back neck in place.

Second row of back neck in place.

But it looked too blah where the two pieces of black lace butted up against each other. Thinking of he Unofficial Victorian Motto “Nothing succeeds like excess.” it occurred to me that a little line of beaded lace would look great. But the nearest fabric store is almost an hour away – I kid you not – and I was not about to spend 3 hours of the day and all that gas just for a few inches of beading lace. Cue Inspiration: just cut down the double-layered beading lace and use that. (These are the moments that make up for all the time spent playing around with the bits and pieces.) And so:

Easy-peasy!

Easy-peasy!

The final outer double-ruffle of ruched black organdy (yes, more ruffles) is pinned into place and as soon as this post is done I’ll be hand-sewing it in place.

Outer ruffle in place; front edge up, back edge is down.

Outer ruffle in place; front edge up, back edge is down.

Outer ruffle in place, front side.

Outer ruffle in place, front side.

Then there will be a black rosette center front to hide the closure. And, although it’s not easy to see in the photo, the outermost black lace is gathered underneath the organdy ruffle:

2014-01-27 18.54.30

The next photo will be of the finished fichu. I’m not going to hurry this through – a bit late to worry about that now – but it will be done by the posting deadline and that’s good enough for me.

9 thoughts on “The end is in sight!

  1. This looks great, very inspring. I don’t think I’ve seen anyone else post such cleat pitcures of putting their fichu together, so thanks! 🙂

    • My pleasure! I get so frustrated when people only post the final pictures and there’s no way of knowing how they got there. I despise re-inventing the wheel (or I’m just plain lazy – take your pick) so I prefer to show the process as I work just in case someone else is wondering how I did it…or if I want to make another one in the future. 😉

Comments are closed.