Cockades/Corcades

(Image copyright CreativeCockades. Click on photo for lick to Etsy shop.)

(Image copyright CreativeCockades. Click on photo for link to Etsy shop.)

I’ve just made some additions to my reference library and they are now on the “My Library” page. Perhaps the most surprising find was an old copy of Threads magazine,buried in a stack of magazines in an antique shop. Since it’s dated 1998 it’s not exactly “antique” by any means. But one article was pure gold and I snapped it up. It’s something I’ve been looking for and I want to share.

Inside I found instruction on how to create different forms and sizes of cockades, which is the English term (corcades is the French term). This type of ribbon work was so-named because the end result is reminiscent of a rooster’s (also called a cock) fanned feathers. While I’ve seen these types of decorations in historical photos, I’ve never been able to find complete and understandable instructions on how to make them.

2014-02-05 13.46.12

(Image copyright 1998, The Tauton Press, Inc.)

2014-02-05 13.47.03

(Image copyright 1998, The Tauton Press, Inc.)

Pertinent info:

Ribbonwork Ornaments, by Camela Nitschke. Threads, January 1998, Number 74 (The Taunton Press, Inc.) This issue is no longer available on back order from Tauton Press, but there may be one or two lurking out there in e-land. Good hunting!!

Reproduction Death to Traitors Civil War Anti-Secession Cockade. (Image copyright VictorianSentiments. Click on photo for link to shop on Etsy.)

Reproduction Death to Traitors Civil War Anti-Secession Cockade. (Image copyright VictorianSentiments. Click on photo for link to shop on Etsy.)

2 thoughts on “Cockades/Corcades

  1. I love making cockades so I will certainly try and find a copy of that issue.

    I have a pinterest board devoted to cockades and trim which may be of use to you here:

    and I’ve pinned a few I’ve made here:

Comments are closed.