The Imperial Tonure (Bustle)

2014-03-05 12.29.00

As part of the Victorian Undergarments class I’m taking, we made the Truly Victorian pattern #163: 1887 Imperial Tonure. We had the option of making either the regular size bustle or the “Imperial” size, which works for the Late Bustle period of 1883-1889. Since I already have a regular size bustle, I went for the Big Mama version. It’s a fabulous pattern, easy to put together and the results are great. I used a fun fabric – definitely not period-correct – and put the boning channels on the outside. I also ran a strip of bias tape down the center back to break up the strong horizontal lines of the boning channels. It came out just as I wanted, which doesn’t always happen so I’m thrilled. I think of it as my “Stained Glass Bustle.”

6 thoughts on “The Imperial Tonure (Bustle)

      • This is very comforting to know. But at the moment I am not much of a “bustler”. I’m more moving into the other direction of 1800. Should I have the need of one though I’ll remember it. 🙂

      • My Georgian/Regency wardrobe is in desperate need of attention, so I’ll be posting about that in a couple of weeks. When I’m through this Victorian push I’ll be able to start spending real time with those dresses and bonnets. And perhaps finally finish my long-neglected Regency long stays. Then it will be time for the Charles Dickens Christmas and the Late Bustle Era Christmas ensembles. I think 2014 is pretty well taken care of, as far as historical sewing is concerned. 🙂

      • My Georgian/Regency wardrobe is in desperate need of attention, so I’ll be posting about that in a couple of weeks. When I’m through this Victorian push I’ll be able to start spending real time with those dresses and bonnets. And perhaps finally finish my long-neglected Regency long stays. Then it will be time for the Charles Dickens Christmas and the Late Bustle Era Christmas ensembles. I think 2014 is pretty well taken care of, as far as historical sewing is concerned. 🙂

      • Yeah I know that feeling. Now that I have the Regency underwear almost done and dusted, I *should* make a dress that goes over it. But then there is also this big Medieval fest in May I might attend and then it is time for some Edwardian-inspired pieces for everyday wear. But we shall see what happens in between. 🙂 But looks like both our sewing calendars are packed. 😉

Comments are closed.