A Regency Birthday Bash

I turn 61 at the end of May. I have no idea how I managed to make it 60, let alone 61. It crept up on me when I wasn’t paying attention, which is perhaps the kindest thing age can do. Anyway, since I am still here, in spite of everything (and I do mean everything) I want to celebrate. Make that Celebrate.

As luck would have it, the genteel folk at the Oregon Regency Society seem to feel the same way. So here it is – my 2014 birthday bash:

Topsails and Tea 2014

Aw, gosh ORS – you shouldn’t have. OK, you didn’t. But it hardly matters ’cause I’m 100% on board, so to speak.

So what kinds of activities are available to note the anniversary of a gentlewoman of reasonable-ish breeding and utterly bogus peerage? How amusing you should inquire!

As you can see, I am in want of a wardrobe. One that will take me from museums to teas and from the top deck of a sailing ship to the candlelight of a ballroom. The modern answer would be “layering” but I have rather serious doubts such a blatantly mundane solution would be fashionably acceptable. Especially what with this being my début into society, such as it is.

So this is what I’m thinking at the minute:

  • Two day ensembles, top to toe.
  • A wrap for evening (huzzah for the Kashmir shawl)
  • A warmer wrap for out on the water.
  • A ball gown, replete with a feather-bedecked turban.

In six weeks.

I must be am clearly certifiable.

Time to sit down and think this through.

First on the list is to make the transitional stays, ’cause ain’t nothin’ happenin’ without ’em. I believe a call on my local reed seller is in order. I wonder if he has made the acquaintance of a neighboring shopkeeper known as JoAnn…

 

3 thoughts on “A Regency Birthday Bash

  1. That’s certainly ambitious! But sounds wonderful. I’d try for one day outfit, a wrap and the ball gown then see if there’s time to make the rest. Good luck with it 🙂

  2. Oh, how fun! I wish I could join you. Texas is waaaaaaay too far away.

    You’re a braver woman than I am to attempt all that in six weeks. Wishing you loads of luck and smooth sewing!

Comments are closed.