Update

You may have been wondering what’s been going on. I haven’t been posting as much, but I’ve not forgotten. I’ve been having a bit of excitement on the health front and my energies have been needed there. But I think that’s all good now, so it’s back into the fray, so to speak.

Here’s what’s been going on in my historical sewing world.

Whilst cleaning up/out my closet I discovered my old corset and was thrilled. It’s the first/only one I’ve made and I like it a lot. It’s very comfortable and I’d been pretty upset that I lost it. But no more.

I re-measured myself and dialed up the dress form as best I could. I bought the dress form before I knew anything about them and bought a size too small. The waist works, but I can’t get enough bust or hips. So I have to pad underneath the corset. Which makes for a weird-looking dress form, but who cares? Here “I” am: chemise, padded corset, and the 1887 Imperial Tonure (TV#163), which really supports a lot of weight and does it well. (The odd-looking thing on the corset is a dragonfly applique that is covering up a huge snag I made in the brocade. Live and learn.)

I’ve fallen seriously behind in my 1880 Bustle Dress class and, through a series of miscalculations on my part, cannot make the dress I’d planned. So I went to Plan B and started with an underskirt of pale pistachio green with tiny white dots, found deep in the stash.

I didn’t particularly love the fabric, but it makes a great underskirt. Here it is, pinned to the petticoat on the dress form.

2014-05-26 16.07.48b

It still needs a waistband and hemming. I’ve found the fabric I want to use for the bodice and overskirt, or maybe a polonaise, but can’t afford it at the minute. So things are kind of “on hold” for this dress.

In the Late Georgian/Early Regency department, the bonnet situation is looking up. I found some wide ribbon in a gorgeous emerald green that I’m going to use around the base of the crown and for the ties. There’s a ribbon folding pattern I found on Pinterest that will work quite nicely to dress it up just a bit. I don’t think it’s going to need anything else. It’s polyester, but doesn’t look it so I think it will suffice.

I also finally found some heavy-duty metal eyelets that I can use for the long stays. They are exactly like grommets, with the setting die and everything, so should work just fine. Especially since the goal of the long stays is to straighten you up and display the girls, not cinch you into an impossibly tiny hourglass.

I’m feeling the need to get something finished – anything. So I’m going to fold ribbon and do up the bonnet. Then go back to the long stays and finish those. Will I get them done by the end of the month? We shall see.

2 thoughts on “Update

  1. a lot of people actaully reccomend that you buy your dummy a size to small and pad it up, so tell yourself you inadvertatnly did the right thing?

    the fabric of that bustle is very eyecatching, it looks sixties, but then so do a lot of c18th textiles. my mum recreates cullercoates fishwife costumes and they went in for some very odd patterns

  2. Is that a dragonfly I spy on your corset? I LOVE IT!!! Your bustle is quite fabulous as well!! Hope your health is improving!!
    Blessings!
    Gina

Comments are closed.