A Mid-Weekend Wow

Here is a “Wow” to make up for the one I missed this past weekend. I LOVE the detail in this dress – the pleats, the gathers, the ruching, the pearls… Of course, it is by Worth and that man certainly knew what to do with fabric. Absolutely elegant.

Bodice detail of the Charles Frederick Worth wedding gown worn by Alice Wade Everett in 1879

Bodice detail of the Charles Frederick Worth wedding gown worn by Alice Wade Everett in 1879

A Return to “Normal” – finally!

Things got a little crazy around here. Well, a lot crazy, truth be told. I haven’t been posting very much lately and missed a Weekend Wow or two. Sorry ’bout that.

Two dodgem car passengers are surprised to see Susie the circus bear bumping into them at the fun fair attached to Bertram Mills Circus in Olympia, London.

Two dodgem car passengers are surprised to see Susie the circus bear bumping into them at the fun fair – London. (photo source unknown)

I spread myself too thin, had a bit of a medical adventure (nothing serious but a pain in the neck and financial strain nonetheless). Bizarre blitzes out of nowhere disrupted my space-time continuum and commandeered my efforts.

No, these are not ginormous salt shakers - they are Daleks. "Exterminate, exterminate!" *shudder*

Daleks *shudder* from Dr. Who, ca. 1964. “Exterminate, exterminate!” (photo source unknown)

Anywho, most of the dust has settled – I sincerely hope – and it’s back to sewing at long last.

I’ve been having a hard time keeping all of my projects together, so I got some help from an organizer. XL-sized ZipLock bags did the trick. Now all of the striped bustle dress things are in one bag together, all of the blue bustle dress things are together, etc., and it makes life so much easier.

I also have recovered financially (mostly) and so have a bit of “fun” money to spend each month on historical sewing again. Like bones for the long-suffering and much-neglected Regency long stays and the new Regency chemise with a lower neckline. Hooray!

So, if you’ll please excuse me, I must decamp to the sewing machine and re-introduce myself.

Now, about those long stays…