The Re-Return of the Regency Long Stays…and a bit of an oops

Vintage Singer Ad

Vintage Singer Ad

It is so nice to be back at the sewing machine and working on the long stays again.

I’m glad I had a break from them, although this was longer than intended, because now I could look at them with a fresh eye. I made a few tiny adjustments then pulled back to look at the big picture.

While working with the three layers this morning I decided that the interlining twill was too stretchy. I want fabric that is a bit less forgiving. So I made another one from white twill that is heavier and had a lot less stretch.

Whipped it up in  no time at all, which should have been my first clue. Stitched on the shoulder straps and noticed this:

Sometimes I amaze myself.

Sometimes I amaze myself.

Now I know good and well that the shoulder straps should be sewn to the back, not the front. The pattern is very clear about this. Apparently I had considered this a “guideline” and not instruction.

Aw, nuts!

Aw, nuts!

I have, of course, sewn the left back to the right side front and vice versa. Thankfully, it’s an easy fix – just one seam each side to rip and re-sew. By tomorrow evening I hope to have all of the layers aligned and together to prepare for the boning channels…by Saturday for sure.

4 thoughts on “The Re-Return of the Regency Long Stays…and a bit of an oops

  1. Which pattern did you use for the long stays? I am looking for stays which can accommodate a slim(ish) lady with large ‘assets’!

    • Hi Annabel – I’m using the “1800-1820 Regency Corset,” pattern #1810-3, from The Mantua-Maker. The girls need room to breathe, and Deb’s pattern can accommodate up to a DD. It looks a bit intimidating, but it goes together easily and, when it’s – ahem – sewn correctly, making adjustments is super-easy. Just make sure to read all the way through the directions before cutting and make a muslin first to nail the fitting. Enjoy!

Comments are closed.