Starting to Look Like Long Stays

2014-07-31 13.36.25

Earlier this afternoon I finished the buck pocket and the last of the boning channels. This is finally looking like it’s supposed to!!

I added extra boning channels at the side front and side back for extra support and I’m hoping it’s enough.

2014-07-31 12.06.01

The trickiest part for me was figuring out how to measure and mark for the busk pocket. I don’t know how it’s “supposed” to be done, but this is how I did it.

First, let me introduce you to two of my favorite tools.

The brass circle is a 1/4 inch guide and the other is a compact measuring guide with two sides. The measuring guide is aluminum, so very lightweight, and the brass circle lets me keep a true 1/4 inch in tricky places.

So – the buck pocket. First I used an air/water-soluble marker and made a center line down the front of the stays. Then I measured for the center of the busk at each end and marked it with a dot of permanent marker. Next step was to align the busk with the center line, deciding how far “up” or “down” I wanted it. Finally, I took my little brass circle and rolled it around the edge of the buck. Et viola!

2014-07-31 12.35.15

A perfectly centered busk pocket.

Even though I know it will make things harder for me when I have the bones in place, I went ahead and sewed the bias binding along the lower edge. It’s turned and pinned and will be my handwork this evening. It makes it harder to put the top edge bias binding on because, once the bones are all in place, it’s going to be a bit of a challenge to handle. (When I get to that step and blow a fuse, or two, please feel free to remind me how cavalier I am about it now.)

Here’s my baby as she looks now – sorry it’s a bit blurred, can’t sneeze (allergies) and take clear pictures at the same time. 😦

2014-07-31 13.45.03

Now it’s time to measure for the bones and order them. While awaiting their arrival I’ll be tackling the eyelets down the back. I absolutely admire those who can do lovely hand-sewn eyelets…but I’ll be pounding in the metal version. Hand-sewn eyelets are saved for the next set of long stays.

Yes, I actually do want to make another set. These vintage long stays have inspired me – I want to do white stays with blue stitching and maybe jazz it up a bit (stay tuned for the next post!)

2 thoughts on “Starting to Look Like Long Stays

    • I’m getting closer…it’s going to be hard to wait for the bones to arrive. At least the eyelets will keep me – distracted. I absolutely loathe putting in the eyelets.

Comments are closed.