Chemise Update – Half Way There

Between mucking around making grommet holes, the amount of writing I’ve been doing and the handwork on the chemise, my right wrist carpal tunnel is acting up a bit. I’m taking this as a sign that I’d best slow down. However, the chemise is half-finished and that deserves a few photos. The fabric is so soft and light – I can’t wait to wear it.

Right underarm gusset in place, sleeve awaits hemming.

Right underarm gusset in place, sleeve awaits hemming.

I got the urge to work on the neckline, so I did. The last time I was in a real fabric store I bought a spool of very thin grosgrain ribbon and was able to finish it up. All in all, the neckline is thinner and a lot less bulky than the one on my first chemise.

Despite completely understanding the mechanics of the underarm gusset, my attempt at setting it in by machine led to something that was, shall we say, not good. The fabric can’t take a lot of abuse with poking and removing stitches, so I decided to set them by hand. Much better.

Right underarm gussset with sleeve seam sewn and body seam open.

Right underarm gussset with sleeve seam sewn and body seam open.

You may have heard the old saying: “Women dew, men perspire, and horses sweat.” Ha! If it is hot and/or humid my body provides a vigorous response and I become a human evaporation cooler. A lot of costumed events occur during the summer and I don’t want my dresses to suffer.

So, in addition to the underarm gusset, I decided to line it on the inside with a matching piece of fabric. A sort of “Regency dress shield”, if you will. Now both sides of the gusset are identical. I’m pretty sure it’s not period correct, but no one will see it so I’m good with it.

I’m taking a break from sewing today to rest my wrist. Looking forward to reading a good book and lounging about. (OK, maybe some housework…but not much.)

