Q and A – a follow-up on “The Victorian in Mourning” post

In “The Victorian  in Mourning” post I mentioned that girls wore white instead of black and a reader asked about the custom. I didn’t keep track of my text resources (nuts!) but there are images and extant garments that document the practice.

The custom of girls wearing white instead of black varied through time and by region. I apologize if I led anyone to believe that it was a universal and/or mandatory practice.

Here are images of children and photos of extant garments that document the wearing of both black and white for mourning:

 

4 thoughts on “Q and A – a follow-up on “The Victorian in Mourning” post

    • What a lovely painting! Thank you for providing the link. I’ve seen white worn in Eurasia, historically at least, but not in the Scotland, England, etc. I ran across some old paintings of women wearing white in France and I believe it was from somewhere around the Renaissance. Sorry, can’t remember more detail.

  1. Thank you for looking up your references on this! I had always wondered if the wearing of white for young girls was actually a custom, or if it was just a family story. Looking more closely at my grandmother’s dress, she is wearing a black belt and I think I see a black hair ribbon as well, so it fits with your pictures. Customs might be a bit different as it was after Victorian times, and my grandmother’s family had immigrated from Quebec, so the French-Canadian customs might be a little different.

    Again thanks!

Comments are closed.