Your Weekend Wow!

This 1904 silk beauty must have been something before it yellowed with age…it’s pretty darned impressive still.

However, as nice as the full-length photos are, the close-ups show the remarkable amount of detail in the lace and the embroidery. I’d seen a few of the detail images of the skirt before, but never noticed the olive velvet trim or the rhinestones cascading at the neck.

I absolutely love it, but it definitely falls squarely in the “don’t try this at home” category for me.

6 thoughts on “Your Weekend Wow!

  1. Those details are indeed very yummy. And in my head I keep on picturing the white as a slightly off-white or eggshell-y tone. 😉

  2. So gorgeous! I adore the back of the skirt, the way the train falls. And I love the bird. I’m not sure what it is, but I want to call it a firebird. 🙂

    btw, ecru was very popular from the 1870s on, so this might be close to it’s original color. I like it much better than if it had been in ice white.

Comments are closed.