The Right White

I have long rebelled against making an all white Regency dress. One of my primary objections to making an all white Regency dress is that’s what I see over and over again. I don’t want to stick out like a sore thumb, neither do I want to disappear in a sea of sameness. So I’ve decided to stick with making the Morning Dress in white and use colors as accents.

One of the things that makes this comfortably do-able for me is I found a white fabric I really like. It’s a 100% soft cotton weave and drapes beautifully.

Just what I was looking for!

Just what I was looking for!

The pattern is woven in – it truly looks like drawn-thread work – and it conforms to the notion that morning gowns were made of a slightly heavier material than standard day or afternoon dresses.

2014-09-04 10.35.50

I bought 5 yards before I realized I need a petticoat and a 3/4 pelisse. Fortunately I can get more online and I have a 40% off coupon, to boot.

I also found a nice pink grosgrain ribbon to use around the waist and on the cap, but I’ve changed my mind about doing the Van Dyke points in the same color. If I can find the right tone and shade I want to make them in a complementary soft green. I like the pink and green color combination and think it will work well – especially with “variegated carnations” on my head.

And now it’s ready, set, sew! The petticoat is basically a tube with two shoulder straps, and I believe I can handle that without a pattern (she says). I do need to find a pattern for the 3/4 pelisse and once I do, the serious work begins.

3 thoughts on “The Right White

Comments are closed.