My Bodiced Petticoat – a cautionary tale

Back when I first became infected with Regency Fever, I thought I’d devote myself to making outerwear only and purchase the handmade undergarments from Etsy or eBay. I know, I know…not even penny wise, let alone pound foolish. I understand that now, but I didn’t back then.

2014-09-06 11.11.39I found a seller on Etsy who had a good reputation, used period-correct patterns and appropriate fabrics. I could get cotton or linen. There were quasi-customization options: I could choose to have my bodiced petticoat with or without a ruffle, with or without tucks at the bottom and, if so, how many tucks. So I could get exactly what I wanted, made to fit me. What. A. Deal.

I chose to have a ruffled hem with three tucks to help hold the skirt out a bit, placed my order and eagerly awaited its delivery.

When it came I was beside myself – my first piece of Regency wear, the start to another adventure. I tore the package open and…???

I’d chosen cotton, and it was cotton. I know it would be muslin, and it was muslin. I thought it would be white, but it was natural. What?!

I went back and double-checked the description on Etsy. The seller never specified the color of the muslin. I assumed that the cotton muslin would be white. It never occurred to me that a Regency petticoat would be in anything other than white. My mistake, entirely.

It fits perfectly and the construction is excellent. It is comfortable. It is period-correct. It’s just really…creamy and yellow-y. How off can it possibly be, you may ask. Here’s the petticoat next to a sheet of plain printer paper. (By the way, the walls are “vanilla cream.”)

2014-09-06 11.12.11

See what I mean?

When I held my fabric against it, it was as I’d feared – the creamy color showed through the white fabric. As a result, I need to line the skirt to keep the petticoat color from showing through.

Fortunately, I hoard muslin in both white and natural. So, as I write, 5 yards of lightweight, absolutely white muslin are in the wash.

Sigh.

6 thoughts on “My Bodiced Petticoat – a cautionary tale

  1. Oh that’s odd, I always line white with a cream or even darker off-white as I find white looks dreadful under white.
    How did they bleach down to white in the regency anyway?

    • Yeah, I think I see a white petticoat in the very near future, but I’ll make it instead of buying it. I’m going to keep the one I have, since I can use it under dark solids and prints, but thanks for the offer. 🙂

Comments are closed.