The 1795 Bodice – Fig Leaf Pattern #102

Inbetween researching historical bleaching methods and re-organizing my bedroom (including a healthy closet purging) I’ve started working on the 1795 “Breakfast with the Bennets” dress and want to give a quick comment on the pattern.

Fig Leaf Patterns #102, c. 1795

Fig Leaf Patterns #102, c. 1795

I’ve never used a Fig Leaf pattern before: I like it. It is well-researched and derived directly from an extant garment. The paper is a good weight and will last. The instructions are clear and well-written. There are lots of basic sewing instruction for the newbie.

But the part I like the best, so far, is the use of color to indicate the cutting lines for each size. It is simply brilliant and so easy to use – no squinting or tracing or accidentally skipping up or down a size (or two).

copyright Fig Leaf Patterns

Fig Leaf Patterns #102, copyright Fig Leaf Patterns

And if you need to make some alterations to get the right fit there are instructions to address it. You’re not left wondering.

2014-09-10 09.51.15

Fig Leaf Patterns #102, copyright Fig Leaf Patterns

Now I’m off to cut the last two pieces and stitch the toile together. Next stop – fitting. And worming my way into the long stays again. Sigh.

