Doubly Honored – A Second Liebster Award Nomination! (Part One)

I am doubly honored and humbled to have been nominated for a second Leibster Award by Samantha at Strings Attached Sewing. Thank you, Samantha!

For those new to the Liebster Award, it is a way to promote recognition for blogs that have less than 200 followers (that includes Twitter and, I think, Facebook).

liebster-award-quote

It works kind of like a Round Robin, in so far as it’s an award from bloggers to bloggers. The purpose is to gain recognition for promising bloggers who’s audience is still growing..

There are, of course, rules. They change and morph a bit as time goes on, but the fundamentals remain the same, as summarized on ironyca.wordpress.com:

ironyca.wordpress.com500 × 326

It’s OK to nominate 5 – 11 qualifying blogs that you feel deserve the award – this about the quality, not quantity.

In accepting this award, I am horrified and more than slightly embarrassed to realize that I never finished my commitments to my first Leibster from Nessa. I hope to rectify that here and in Part Two.

First, though, my questions from Samantha:

What is your creative process?

Basically, it’s being able to let go of my critical side and just “do.” I get inspiration from a number of sources – images, people, conversations, you name it. Words, language, color, texture, shape…it’s all good. Not mistakes, just ideas that didn’t work out so well. Not failure, just a need to sharpen my knowledge and/or skills. Once the timid and risk-averse self-critic is banished, anything can happen.

What can you absolutely not function without?

Setting aside edible food, drinkable water and protection from the elements…this is a toughie. Everything else is just stuff. I would hate being homeless. I would have a hard time being 100% dependent on others for my care. I would hate to be without my rescue dog Sophie. But as grievous as those situations may be, I would still be able to function – not well, but function.

I guess the answer would be my brain. Not being able to think or remember or analyze or create or feel happiness… Nope, that would do me in.

What is your favorite part of your day and why?

In the morning, when I’m still in bed and slowly waking up. I’m relaxed, no pain. Sophie is usually snuggled up beside me. I can feel my senses coming alive, almost one by one: hearing, then touch, then smell, then sight. And taste – must brush teeth.

What accomplishment are you most proud of? (bragging time guys)

I have saved lives, literally, while working as an RN in critical care. I’ve done CPR on the floor and kept the patient alive. I caught an unanticipated heart attack at 3 a.m. in a patient who had been admitted for something completely different. I’ve manned the defibrillator and zapped people’s hearts back to normal, more than once.

On the flip side, and equally important, I’ve helped people cope with death and dying. It’s some pretty serious stuff, so I won’t go into a lot of detail. Let’s just say I worked in a pediatric/trauma unit. “Nuff said.

What is your favorite book and why?

A single book? Impossible. However, there are series that I love and re-read:

  • “In Death” series by J. D. Robb
  • “Miles Vorkorsigan” series by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • “Dexter” series by Jeff Lindsay
  • “Wire in the Blood” series by Val McDermid
  • “Bryant and May” series by Christopher Fowler

Why? They are all character-driven. Interesting and strong characters that interact, great story lines that intermingle from one novel to another, creativity and imagination, the first two take place in the future and yet the situations and circumstances are very believable (i.e., no Godzilla), and the ability to include humor in the most unlikely moments. Each novel pulls me into the next and I never tire of the characters.

What makes you fangirl?

I had to look up the definition of fangirl (“a rabid breed of human female who is obsessed with either a fictional character or an actor”) so that’s probably a clue.  Obsessed is a pretty strong word – I don’t think I obsess about anything.

Having said that, I do have a keen interest in the characters of Elizabeth Bennet, Commissaire Maigret, Bryant & May, Dr. Tony Hill and Roarke. As for real people it’s Colin Firth’s body of work (that means his films, guys); Mozart; Georgianna, The Duchess of Devonshire (1757-1806) and Marie Antoinette (such a complex story).

How do you deal with stress?

Not blow things out of proportion, not let the “what-ifs” run amok, putting things in perspective. Classical music. Playing with my dog. Meditation. Loosing myself in the sound of the ocean. And my mantra “What am I willing and able to do right now?”

What is your favorite food?

The entire carbohydrate food group works for me. 😉

Who inspires you?

Every single person who risked it all by working for the Resistance in WWII. Their stories are awesome, and I do mean awesome. (For clarification’s sake, this is not a slam against Germany or her people – just “you-know-who” and the people who willingly carried out his orders and killed without remorse.)

What do you love about yourself?

I love that I am unique. I love my brain for being smart, quick and able to think outside the box. I love that I can dance. I love my ability to laugh at myself and the absurdities of life. I love that I’m able to take risks. I love that I can write. I love that I’m empathetic. I love that travel is easy for me and that I love the experience.

Egads, that was hard.

OK, now for eleven random facts about me:

  1. I’m ambidextrous (use both hands just about equally)
  2. I’m a lousy cook.
  3. But I love to bake – especially bread.
  4. I love snow – makes me feel like a kid again.
  5. I hate Sudoku.
  6. My favorite pie is Cherry.
  7. My favorite cake is Red Velvet.
  8. Yellow looks hideous on me.
  9. I love the ocean and just sitting, listening to the sound of waves breaking on the beach. It’s a transcendent experience for me.
  10. I am in perpetual hope that one day I’ll go to France and the second part of my round-trip ticket gets lost and I can’t afford another ticket so I can’t leave but I charm the administrative powers-that-be with my clever repartee (as if that would be possible) and get to live there for the rest of my life.
  11. Or Italy…I’m flexible.

I’m exhausted.

Stay tuned for Part Two.

9 thoughts on “Doubly Honored – A Second Liebster Award Nomination! (Part One)

Comments are closed.