18th Century Apron Color Resolved

Most of you will probably be thrilled to hear that the orange is out. (I have this thing for bright colors – what can I say?)

So instead of absolutely glowing in this combination:

2014-09-30 09.39.26

I’ll be wearing something a bit more subtle and suitable, like this:

The brown is actually a deeper, richer, "earthier" brown.

The brown is actually a deeper, richer, “earthier” brown.

Or perhaps this:

This is actually a "pea soup" green, not this Granny Smith apple green.

The green is really a “pea soup” green, not this Granny Smith apple green.

If I have the time I just might make both and take a photo of the outfit showing each of the aprons.

By the way, I forgot to mention that inspiration for the blue and white fabric I chose came from a couple of extant pieces. Here’s my choice next to an original:

As I said, not at all perfect but it will do for this event. And hopefully there will be so much ale passing around that not too many folks will notice.

3 thoughts on “18th Century Apron Color Resolved

    • They both look nice, so it’s hard to decide. As I said, I just may make both…a historical mix’n’match wardrobe. Or something like that. I’m glad I didn’t get the apron completely finished using the orange; saved myself a lot of handwork there.
      PS – Just got your 18th century stays – don’t be surprised if I have questions. I always have questions. 😉

Comments are closed.