Magical Snow, Cranky Elbow and Not Sewing.

Two Victorian ladies making what has to be the most elegantly lovely snow(wo)man of all time.

Two Victorian ladies making what has to be the most elegant snow(wo)man of all time.

I’ve been trying to sleep for hours now, but slumber won’t come. My head is full of ideas cavorting about and having quite the bash – they refuse to settle down. So here I am at 4:30 in the morning with the hope that writing will help release some of those party animals. That’s what I get for serving my de-caffeinated self a strong cup of “real” tea in the evening.

After diligently babying my elbow for weeks it was about 99% healed. Until two days ago when, feeling cocky, I lifted a relatively heavy bag of groceries and carried it from the car to the house. Mr. E. has been screaming ever since. Stupid thing to do, but there you have it. It already feels better, but its stubborn achyness is another reason I’m doing this instead of sleeping.

Not much sewing got done this week, as you’ve probably suspected given the lack of posts. A particular annoying bit of life popped up and my energies were spent getting it straightened out. At least getting the paperwork together to straighten it out. My Georgian/Regency bodice lays there and pouts every time I pass by, and I don’t blame it one bit.

On the deliriously happy front, it started to snow a few hours ago. It went from icy rain to a bit of sleet to that weird not-sleet-but-not-snow transitional stuff to bona-fide snow – the first snow of the year.

I love snow. Love it. Love to watch it fall. Love to walk in it. Love to catch the flakes on my tongue. Love the absolute silence it creates. I was eight years old the first time I saw it snow and I still believe it’s powerful earth-magic. I get positively giddy over it and behave like a three-year-old when I’m in it.

Sophie, the Wonder Pup, has never seen snow so it will be interesting to see how she reacts. She already has snow boots and good coat (not that she knows it) so we’ll test out the new gear later today.

Well it’s now after 5am and I’m still wide awake. Looks like I’ll be watching the lovely blanket of white reveal itself as the sun comes up. Ooooohhhhh. Pretty. Yawn.

 

2 thoughts on “Magical Snow, Cranky Elbow and Not Sewing.

Comments are closed.