Warning – Another Gown ID Error on the Loose!

Stunning 1860-1870s dress, 3 pieces with soutache braid and eyelet trim, back bustle.

“Stunning 1860-1870s dress, 3 pieces with soutache braid and eyelet trim, back bustle.”

This beautiful dress has been making the rounds lately. I fell head-over-heels with the soutache work and the overall design. So much so that I was planning to feature it on a Weekend Wow, even though the “1860-1870s” time frame is rubbish (since it’s early 1870’s style and absolutely not 1860’s). Anyway, it’s a good thing I hadn’t gotten there yet, because I just discovered…

it’s a doll’s dress (made to fit a 17-inch doll). The craftsmanship is pretty darned amazing, but it’s not an extant garment. I get pretty irked when this happens to me, so I’m passing the information along in the hope it won’t happen to you.

So you won’t see it on any Wow whatsoever. Which is too bad because I think it’s beautiful. Now I need to wade through my Pinterest board, ’cause I think it may be in there somewhere. Sigh. But better to know than not.

2 thoughts on “Warning – Another Gown ID Error on the Loose!

    • The detail is so intricate and done so well, I couldn’t see anything off with the scale. If not for finding the series of photos with the ruler I’d never have guessed it isn’t full size. Amazing, indeed!!

Comments are closed.