HSM #1 – Foundations: A Breeze of a Chemise

Now it’s on to HSM #1, for which I’m making an 18th century chemise. The linen washed up beautifully and dried with very little wrinkling (yay!) so it’s ready to go. I’ll give it a gentle steaming, using a pressing cloth, and it should smooth right out.

The pattern I’m using is one I found online – Making an 18th Century Shift by Mara Riley (see website for instructions and how to measure). I chose this particular pattern because it allows me to customize the chemise to fit my shape.

Now I just need to get my measurements and start making the pattern on the fabric. Next stop – cut and stitch. I’ve never worked with linen before, so it’s another learning opportunity. Love ’em.

4 thoughts on “HSM #1 – Foundations: A Breeze of a Chemise

Comments are closed.