Your Weekend Wow!

I love this beautiful dress – the color combination reminds me of spring flowers. I wonder how many hours it took to fringe all those yards of silk taffeta…my fingers ache just thinking about it.

Woman’s Promenade Dress, American, c. 1870. Silk taffeta, linen plain weave and cotton twill weave with silk macrame fringe. LACMA (M.2007.211.773a-d) 5

Woman's Promenade Dress, American, c. 1870. Silk taffeta, linen plain weave and cotton twill weave with silk macrame fringe. LACMA (M.2007.211.773a-d) 5

Woman's Promenade Dress, American, c. 1870. Silk taffeta, linen plain weave and cotton twill weave with silk macrame fringe. LACMA (M.2007.211.773a-d) 4

Woman's Promenade Dress, American, c. 1870. Silk taffeta, linen plain weave and cotton twill weave with silk macrame fringe. LACMA (M.2007.211.773a-d) 3

Woman's Promenade Dress, American, c. 1870. Silk taffeta, linen plain weave and cotton twill weave with silk macrame fringe. LACMA (M.2007.211.773a-d) 2

2 thoughts on “Your Weekend Wow!

  1. It’s absolutely gorgeous!

    I *think* it was in the 1870s that premade matching trims became available. (Unmatched trim had been around for about 50 years.)

    • I much prefer the unmatched trims on this dress: one’s a bit on the pink side, one’s a bit more magenta-y…I never would have seen the potential in those colors. Together they really brighten up the main fabric. I love finding these combinations that surprise my eye (and put dangerous ideas in my head).

Comments are closed.