Home for Good – at last!

hmestore.net

The last few weeks have been exhausting. The good news is I’m now completely moved out of the house and the owner has it on the market. The not so good news is I tore the muscle in my leg again yesterday and am now hobbling around with my dad’s old cane. As a result, I can’t unpack as quickly as I’d like. On the other hand, it means giving the leg a rest and that translates into lots of reading and sewing time.

And I can’t wait to get back to sewing.

But, before I can do that, there is a small matter to deal with – the sewing space itself. At the moment it has a semi post-apocolyptic je ne sais quoi about it…

It’s easy for me feel a bit overwhelmed when facing things like this. But I know how I want to set it up and today is Step One: organize and catalog all of my historical sewing patterns. Most of them are in two bins, but some are in the storage drawers along with their intended fabric, trims and other notions. They were in order once, but they aren’t any more.

It’s getting to the point where I’ll be thinking about what I want to make and when I try to mentally run through my inventory, I can’t always remember which ones I have versus which ones I want. I’ve already accidentally purchased a duplicate and I don’t want to do that again.

2015-03-12 14.08.03

So today they will be physically sorted according to timeline (the current range is from the 17th Century to the 1930’s) and entered into a table so I can see exactly what’s on hand without having to paw through the lot. I’ve been meaning to do this for a long time and this is the perfect opportunity.

I already have the fabric and pattern for HSM #4 (War and Peace)…now actually I’ll be able to find them.

I’ve also been spending time in the evenings knitting the sontag for the HSM Challenge #3. After trials of different yarn weights and needle sizes I found the combination that will give me one size larger and keep the proportions correct. The wool is knitting up with just a bit of sheen, which I didn’t expect, but it’s not shiny and so should work out well.

One thing I regret is that the move threw my timing off for this year’s Victorian Heritage Festival, which is rapidly approaching. There is a very slim chance I might have my waist done in time (it’s not very complicated) but, as much as I want to be able to wear the new dress, I’m not going to pressure myself. There’s been enough stress around here lately – why add more?

So today the patterns get cataloged and tomorrow I’ll play with the waist and see how far I get. It’s good to be back.

