Your Weekend Wow!

The Roaring 1920’s bring to mind Prohibition*, the speak-easy, the Charleston, flappers, and P. G. Wodehouse’s Jeeves and Wooster stories (where Woosters abound and the Jeeves are few).

"‘There are moments, Jeeves, when one asks oneself 'Do trousers matter?’ ‘The mood will pass, sir.’" (image from the BBC)

“‘There are moments, Jeeves, when one asks oneself ‘Do trousers matter?’ ‘The mood will pass, sir.’” (image from the BBC)

1920s Fashion doesn't favor the shapley

The tubular-shaped dress, with its emphasis on the hip line, is never going to be a favorite of mine. The gal at the left would look right at home on my family tree. Surely you can spot the – uh – problem.

Essie Davis as Phryne Fisher ~ Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries (PBS)

Essie Davis as Phryne Fisher ~ Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries (PBS)

However, If you’re reasonably tall-ish, slender and not burdened with a lot of, shall we say, curves you can do more than merely pull off these styles…they’ll look fabulous on you. As they do on Essie Davis, who plays the Hon. Miss Phryne Fisher on the PBS Miss Fisher Murder Mysteries.

So when it comes to day-to-day dresses, my hips and I avoid the ’20s whenever possible.

But the party dresses and gowns? That’s another story. I love colorful embroidery and I’m a sucker for a well-placed sequin (and a few thousand of her BFFs). I’d pop myself into one of these in a minute.

It’s hard to pick a favorite, but I like black and pink together, so I’d start with #1. Which one would you like to wear?

* In the U.S., Prohibition was a nationwide constitutional (!!) ban on the sale, production, importation, and transportation of alcoholic beverages that remained in place from 1920 to 1933. It was about as successful as trying to ban aspirin. My father was a kid in the 1920’s and his mother ran a speak-easy in the basement where she also, conveniently, had a still. And she was far from being the only person who did.

2 thoughts on “Your Weekend Wow!

  1. Argh, SO hard to choose which one I’d wear! I just can’t narrow it down totally. For a summer event, I think I’d probably go for either the white French evening dress c.1925, with the pink floral garlands, or the beautiful pale green dress next to it with the flowers, bird (pheasant?) and gold trim to the collar and hem. For the winter, I’d choose that fabulously dramatic Callot Soeurs red dress with the gold embroidery. So gorgeous! ❤

Comments are closed.