HSM #5 Update – Happily Homespun

Out with the "yucky"...

Out with the “yucky”…

As threatened promised, I did drive the hour to the closest “real” fabric store to buy “real” homespun. Happily, it was on sale. Not so happily, I spent about as much on gas as I did on the fabric. But so it goes – there is no way I was going to use what came in the mail. (By the way, fabric.com did accept my review/comment so others are now forewarned.)

...in with the yummy.

…in with the yummy.

The selection wasn’t as large as I would have liked, but there were choices and that was good enough for me. They didn’t have any solids, so I ended up with a dark blue and off-white woven plaid. Plaid? Yup.

I’ve read some rather disparaging remarks here and there about how reenactors have gone bananas using prints and woven patterns for their aprons, pinners and other styles as well, and how it’s just plain wrong*. Well…there is photographic evidence to support the choice, so I’m going with it.

*A note to makers of the aforementioned disparaging remarks: If I’m wrong and it turns out I’m unwittingly perpetuating a myth, I’ll eat nibble a bit on some hard tack as penance.

 

5 thoughts on “HSM #5 Update – Happily Homespun

  1. Plaid were extremely popular in the 1870s (I’ve forgotten the era you’re making, sorry). They went in and out of fashion for most of the 19th century.

    Maybe or not high fashion, but real people have always mixed what they had with what they liked. 🙂

    • Youbetcha! I’ve seen extant examples of plaid from the early 1800’s and examples of plaid and checked dresses in Ackermann’s. I love plaid, even have a Pinterest board dedicated to plaid.
      I’m making the apron for 1850s- and 1860s-style clothing. This is meant to be a work apron – destined to be used and get dirty. Relatively speaking, I might end up wearing it a lot and if I’m going to be seeing that much of it I would rather see it made in a fabric I like that also historically fits the bill.

    • It seems to me that the very concept of “mend and make do” must lend a large amount of leeway to making an “accurate” reproduction. Today we drool over fashion plates in Ackermann’s and Godey’s, often forgetting the bulk of those fashions were directed toward the upper classes who had the means to be “au courant” with every season. What if, two or three hundred years from now, the primary source of information about how we dress today consisted of video footage from Fashion Week in Paris and Milan? How many future re-enactors would be discussing whether or not T-shirts had pockets, or even whether underwear was worn? 😉
      PS – the blue plaid homespun is a delight to work with…wonderful drape and easy hand sewing. I know I’ll be working with homespun again.

Comments are closed.