Here and Still Standing

Washington State Coastline by Richard Brady

Washington State Coastline by Richard Brady

I’m back home and doing much better. Thanks to everyone for your kind words and wishes…they make a difficult situation feel not quite so bad. I’m still a bit slow mentally, so you’ll probably notice it in my writing for a while. And I’m still not really understanding what happened, because it shouldn’t have. It was definitely not a stroke – good news there. But there are days for which I can’t account and my memory of events is tangled, to put it mildly. But I’m here, everything should eventually return to normal, and there aren’t enough words for how grateful I am for that.

6 thoughts on “Here and Still Standing

  1. I’m sorry to hear you were ill, and glad to see you’re back home again. From the little you mentioned – feeling a little slow mentally, missing a few days, but it not being a stroke – I wonder if you might have experience Transient Global Amnesia. I’ve known two people who have gone through this (my father, and one of my professors back in grad school). There’s a link between it and statin medications, which we didn’t know about until after Dad’s experience.

    If it is TGA, the good news is that the effects aren’t generally long-term. Dad lost a day (and my professor lost several), and they won’t get them back, but he hasn’t had any problems since.

    • Thanks, Meg. There weren’t any statins involved, so no one still knows what happened. Some bit of memory are coming back, although I’m willing to bet that some of it is gone for good. But I’m firmly on the mend, and that’s what counts.

  2. I’m glad to hear it’s not something as serious as a stroke,but how scary that you don’t really know what it was.
    Sending prayers for a quick and complete recovery, but take it slow. It always takes time for our bodies to recover and we get it impatient. *Like I should talk*
    Val

    • As usual, you’ve hit the nail on the head – I would feel a whole lot better about “this” if I knew what “this” is/was. However, I also recognize that no one, including myself, may ever know how or why what happened did happen. All I can really do is move on (slowly, indeed) and do the best I can with what I have…and, considering what could have happened, that ain’t so bad. 😉

  3. I’m glad you’re home. Many hugs to you!! Thank goodness it wasn’t a stroke. Just being miserable after surgery messed up my memory for ages, so that may be a side effect of whatever laid you flat.

    Wishing you good health – and soon!

    • Thanks, Deb – all hugs happily received! At least by today my fingers have a better idea of what’s on the keyboard and I’m back to touch typing, as it was called in the “olden days.” 😉

Comments are closed.