No Need to Hustle with the Bustle (sorry)

Pierre-Auguste Renoir (1841–1919) Marie-Thérèse Durand-Ruel Sewing, 1882.

Pierre-Auguste Renoir (1841–1919) Marie-Thérèse Durand-Ruel Sewing, 1882.

Well, as it turns out I don’t have to worry about burning the midnight oil to finish the bustle dress after all. It’s a long story that involves re-financing my car and having to make an extra payment to fill the gap while the paperwork dragged. (Apparently, when there are people involved, electrons flow as slowly as paperwork shuffles.) The end result is that, until my extra payment gets refunded, I can’t afford to go to the Impressionism exhibition in Seattle this coming weekend. I would have gone even without the dress, but the costs of these excursions (driving, 2 ferry trips, admission, lunch) add up quickly and it’s just no longer an option. I’ve known it for a little over a week, when the need for the car payment arose, and thought it time I let you know.

While I am truly disappointed, all is far from lost. I’ve decided how I want to trim the dress and this allows me plenty of time to do just as I envision. When the Victorian Heritage Festival rolls around again in March I’ll have the bustle dress I wanted from the start and a pile of fake hair to support the hat. I can wait for that.

In the meantime, it’s time to put together another post of hair-raising vintage Halloween costumes and there are a lot of creepy photos I really want out of the folder so I don’t have to keep looking at them. Especially the clown…

2 thoughts on “No Need to Hustle with the Bustle (sorry)

  1. Sorry to hear that. But now, you have ages and ages of time to make that bustle dress really perfect. As nights are getting longer and colder again, it sounds like a very nice thing to do while sipping a nice cup of tea. 🙂

Comments are closed.