The Second Annual Vintage Halloween Costume Nightmare

 

I don't what it is, but I don't like it.

I don’t what it is, but I do NOT like it.

Last year’s foray into creepy vintage Halloween costumes was such a hit I thought I’d do it again this year. This time I’ll break it into three separate posts: one for Victorian and Edwardian fancy dress occasions, one about the Victorian craze for headless photographs, and one specifically to honor those…ah…um…quaint(?) homemade Halloween efforts at terrorizing both friends and strangers costumes. Let’s start there. So sit back and keep watch over your shoulder. Here we go. *Shudder*

5 thoughts on “The Second Annual Vintage Halloween Costume Nightmare

  1. Some of those costumes are sincerely chilling! Eek!
    I love the guy with his demons on leashes, and the werewolf with his cat.

    But the clown at the top of the post goes waaaay beyond creepy. And I normally like clowns. O_O

    • OK – this is a bit risky, but here goes. I didn’t want to mention this in the body of the blog because some people are waaay too reactionary. It is sad I even feel compelled to make this disclaimer, but here goes: This is NOT a racist (or religious) comment and not meant to be one in any way, so don’t get your knickers in a twist.

      I think the photo may be of a monkey that’s perhaps had its teeth filed into points (OMG) and make up to look like a clown. I say that because of the eyes. They don’t look human at all…all pupil, no white. And there are some species of monkey with very human-like noses that would end up looking like that in a scream. (I could very well be wrong, but I don’t think so. If I can find out for sure I’ll do a follow-up comment.)

      A little work on the teeth, a little face paint, a costume and something to scare the poor thing – viola! Horribly scary image. I don’t like clowns, so I’m pretty put off right from the start. 😛 And I abhor animal cruelty, so I’m angry at the same time.

      • Now that you mention it, the eyes don’t look human. And I’ve seen photos of monkeys with teeth rather like that – it needn’t be scared, just angry.
        Victorians could be so casually cruel to each other, many wouldn’t think twice about tormenting an animal.

    • I agree! I love the photo of the little old lady (I can say that because I “am” one) filling the candy bowl while the creepy looking kids wait at the door. I’d turn around and have a heart attack.

Comments are closed.