Your Weekend Wow

It’s in the low 40’s (Fahrenheit) outside and the wind is literally howling, stripping the trees of their leaves and blasting us with a wind chill in the 30’s. Perhaps time for a modest little jacket? OK, it’s not very warm. But it’s oh, so lovely.

Jacket in the Capuchin style (hooded). France, c. 1760-1770. Shaped taffeta, brocaded silk and spun silver, entre-deux and silver lace flounces. (Veste à capuche. France, vers 1760-1770. Taffetas façonné, broché soie et filé argent, entre-deux et volants de dentelle argent.) UFAC collection. Inv. 96-07-80. © Les Arts Décoratifs, Paris. Photo by Jean Tholance (lesartsdecoratifs.fr)

d63111fc78bb28b767fd480986de71f2

6 thoughts on “Your Weekend Wow

  1. love your website, may I send you some photos for some free clothing dating advice?? Im really curious to know nore about mycollection

    • Truth be told, I’m not all that good at dating garments. 😦 I used to have quite a collection of vintage clothing and had a devil of a time sorting the 40’s from the 50’s from the 60’s. Even though each era had clear hallmarks in style, I needed lots of help sorting them. (I’m especially dismal when it comes to dating vintage hats.)

      I recommend going to FaceBook. There are a number of groups who specialize in dating both vintage and antique clothing. That’s where I get information about dating a fabric or an item when I need it – the collective knowledge is astounding and people are eager to help. You can get an answer that you know is correct, as opposed to my best guess. Give them a go – I think you’ll be pleased with the results.

Comments are closed.