HSM #11 Update – The Spangles are Finished

I have to say that this spangling business went a lot more quickly than I initially thought. The front of the reticule is now twinkling. I very much like the color of the brown spangles on the shot cotton. This photo is very close to its true color.

Front

Front

Back

Back

I back-stitched around the perimeter by hand, then trimmed the piece to the cutting lines.

2015-11-19 12.02.37

Now it looks more like a reticule in the making, and not such a confusing blob. I still need to make a decision about the embroidery for that space outlined in white stitches, though I’d best make it soon.

I was going to do the bulk of the hidden work by machine, but I’m enjoying the hand sewing so much I’ve decided to do the entire thing by hand. Such a lovely occupation on these cold and dark nights.

