Your Weekend Wow!

(Life has been coming at me like some B-grade ninja movie and keeping me on my toes, so I apologize for the non-existent posting. But I finally have the trim for the HSM #12 projects and hope to be back working on them soon.)

This elegant pelisse is from the Museum of London as part of their “Expanding City: The Pleasure Garden” exhibit. While the pelisse is authentic, the hat is a fanciful work of art and is not a historically accurate piece. Remember the Marie Antoinette sailing ship hat? That was a Museum of London exhibit, as well. A little artistic license can be fun, as long as it’s understood as being just that.

Here are the curator’s comments:

A pelisse or pelisse-coat, a kind of women’s outer garment which could be make in everything from the lightest silk to heavy fur. It was worn over a gown but could look like a gown itself, especially when floor length like this garment. The pelisse was made for a trousseau in 1823 for the wedding of the grandmother of the donor.

Unfortunately, there is no other information. I’d hazard a guess that it’s made of silk, also lined in silk. The piping and soutache work are lavishly done. And I adore the “bow” ornament at the back.

original front

original half side

original side

original back

original back detail

original bodice detail

original front detail

original reticule

And if you’re truly curious about that fanciful sattelite-dish affair of a hat, here’s a close up shot. Just remember, while it is a truly impressive example of artistic millinery, saying it’s historically inaccurate doesn’t begin to come close.

original the salletite dish affair

2 thoughts on “Your Weekend Wow!

    • I love those sleeve caps, too. I have wide-ish shoulders so they’d make me look like a large rectangle. But on someone with a slender line they’d be so fabulously fussy. I’d love to see it worn and see how it hangs and moves. (A chronic lament of mine when it comes to extant garments.)

Comments are closed.