An Abrupt End-of-Year Transition Has Taken Me by Surprise, and a Tweak to HSM #12

blurred-circles.jpeg

It’s time I shared a bit of my personal life, because things around the old homestead are undergoing a radical change at a time of year when there is already plenty of hustle and bustle (no costuming pun intended) to keep anyone busy.

Eight years ago I moved to this city on the advice of my allergist and I love it here. It is the best place I’ve ever lived and I have tried ever so hard to stay here. But it is a tourist town at heart and the prices of everyday goods and services are priced accordingly. It has become too expensive for me to stay and so, sadly, I must move elsewhere. I did everything I could to avoid this, but sometimes what must happen must happen. My lease is up at the end of January, so the hunt was on.

One week ago, last Sunday, while hunting online I found a nice place in a safe neighborhood in a town about 40 miles away. It has everything I need, a few thing I want (like heat that works and windows that don’t leak) and nothing extraneous. It works for the budget and is close enough that I can still come back into town to see friends and get together with my knitting buddies. And, thank the heavens, it is closer to fabric stores and major services so no 80+-mile commutes for a spool of ribbon or thread.

On Sunday I downloaded and filled out the application. On Monday I drove to the property manager’s office. As it happened, the old tenant had just turned in the keys so I was able to see the property. It is in excellent condition and perfect for my needs. There is even a separate area off the living room that will make a light-filled sewing room. So on Monday I submitted my application and the fee. On Thursday I got the call that the application had been accepted, the background check had to process first, and Sophie was approved. Tomorrow, Monday, I drive back out to sign the papers and put down the holding deposit.

I’ll be in a nicer home and my cost of living will go down by quite a bit, both of which are great. But I move in 19 days. EEK!! As a result, I’m in a bit of a scramble.

So, I haven’t gotten a lot of sewing done. OK, I haven’t gotten any sewing done.

I’m scaling back HSM #12 to one project only – the cap. At this point, I’m not sure it’s going to end up looking like I thought it was but, since it’s going to be under a bonnet for the most part, I can live with it for the time being. And if I don’t like it, I’ll just make another one (if there’s a challenge to re-do a re-do).

12 thoughts on “An Abrupt End-of-Year Transition Has Taken Me by Surprise, and a Tweak to HSM #12

  1. I am very glad you found a new place to live so quickly and that it isn’t leagues and leagues away from your old home. Wishing you all the best for the move and a Happy Christmas nonetheless. 🙂

  2. Wow Lady C. What an nd of a year are about to have Best wishes for the move and the holiday season. I hope all will go evenly and will be easierthen you are anticipating! Take care, big hugs
    Belinda x

    • Thanks, Belinda! Not exactly the easiest time of year to move, but rentals are scarce and when you find a good one ya gotta move fast. I count myself extremely fortunate that everything went so smoothly. Makes me laugh that I finally got the sewing room completely unpacked and organized, now it’s back into boxes. But at least the unpacking will be tons easier this time. And thanks for the hugs – very much appreciated! 🙂

Comments are closed.