Upright and Still Almost Sane: an update on moving and HSM 2016

(From the Everett Collection)

(From the Everett Collection)

Few things will mess with one’s life like moving does and this move has been a doozie. Once everything was out of the old place it needed to undergo the checkout cleaning for the property manager’s approval to refund my security deposit. The security deposit was whopping big and I want it back.

But the old place hasn’t been well maintained and was in such poor condition that cleaning it wasn’t easy. The deteriorating wood needed careful handling. It’s difficult to scrub cracked and chipping paint. Two rooms needed repainting. I found a black widow spider in the coat closet and evidence of rodents in the former garage (I think they moved in after the botched construction job). In any case, I spend the last week driving back to the old place daily to work on cleaning it up. Even with fours hours of help on Friday, it still took forever. And I threw my back out in the process.

I finished with the house at 9pm on Sunday night and I’ve been barely mobile since then. Today is the first day I can stand up without pain and I am thrilled. Needless to say, I haven’t been able to start unpacking and arranging the sewing room.

And all that means that I’m dreadfully behind on HSM 2016.

January: Procrastination – finish a garment you have been putting off finishing (a UFO or PHD) or make something you have been avoiding starting. I was working on a hand-sewn cap of white organdy, which was due Jan 31st. Unfortunately, neither December nor January was conducive to sewing – I’m procrastinating on the Procrastination challenge.

February: Tucks and Pleating – make a garment that features tucks and pleating for the shape or decoration. I want to make an 1840’s or 1850’s dress, but I know that one short month is not enough time. So I’m working my way through my patterns to see what I have that’s doable in just a few weeks and I might be on to something. I just need to decide, get the sewing machine set up and start cutting. So as soon as I know what I’m doing I’ll pass it on.

