Boxed In

Unpacking 1

Today the seemingly endless towers and corridors of boxes got to me. I can’t find anything…bits and pieces, here and there, but not everything for one single project. It’s driving me nuts and today I came close to snapping. It was me or the cardboard – and the cardboard lost.

I started by unpacking fabric, which accounts for a number of boxes. five boxes went down today: 2 large and 3 small.

Unpacking 2

I folded individual pieces. Yardage was wound back onto bolts and stacked on the bookshelf – Victorian-era prints on the top shelf, pre-Victorian on the bottom shelf.

Unpacking 4

The surprise of the day was locating my stash of 1930’s reproduction fabrics, for which I have something very special planned.

Unpacking 5

The find of the day was the electric cord and foot pedal for my sewing machine. WooHoo! Victory!! (Or at least a step in the right direction.) Now I need to get the rest of the boxes off of the sewing table so I can actually use the machine. One step at a time.

It feels like it’s taking forever to get the new sewing room into action, but my real frustration is in falling so out of touch with the Historical Sew Monthly. The cap that was meant as January’s project is just not working out (more on that in another post). February is nearly one-third gone and I’ve not even selected a project, let alone started one. In retrospect, it would have been nice if I’d thought far enough ahead so that I’d chosen projects for the first few months and packed them all in a single, well-marked box. Unfortunately, life happened and best laid plans fell by the wayside.

So it goes. I’ll get it together, eventually.

However, unexpected things – very nice things – have been happening on the historical fashion/sewing front.

A member of my historical costuming group contacted me with a question, one thing led to another, and she asked if I’d be interested in writing an article for the group’s newsletter and participate in an upcoming gathering for members who need historical background to prepare for the planned Fall Event (more on that later, too).

A few days prior to that, I visited the police station to get an application for a new dog license for my Sophie. I ended parking in front of the local museum. I didn’t even know we had one, so I went in and ended up chatting with the volunteers. Turns out they were pretty excited that I had some knowledge of and lots of interest in historical clothing. The museum has a building where the collection is stored and the collection includes extant garments and other historic textiles. They’re looking for help working with that part of the collection and asked if I’d be interested. Moi? In a room filled with antique garments that I get to fondle handle, inspect and learn from? With someone on hand to teach me what is what? Youbetcha!

So it looks like another chapter in personal development is looming on the horizon. Both the museum work and helping provide historical background for a costuming event are something I’ve thought of doing for quite a while and it seems I’ll be getting a crack at both.

Old dog + new tricks = one very happy camper.

6 thoughts on “Boxed In

  1. Keep going, there’s an end in sight!
    Hey, I’ll be up in Pt Townsend next month for the Festival and giving my presentation on Watches & How Women Wore Them, on Sat, 11am at the Cotton Building. Hope to see you!
    Val

    • I’ll likely be disguised as a civilian this year, but I’ll definitely be at your presentation. Wouldn’t miss it for the world. And I have some watch pieces-parts I love to share with you. See you there!

  2. Wow, the museum sounds brilliant! And cool about the article too 🙂
    Your sewing room will get there, at least you’re making progress, and it’s not worth feeling bad about getting behind with a voluntary optional internet challenge (she says having been there, done that!)

    • Voluntary Optional Internet Challenge” – that needs to be a sign over my sewing machine…right above the bottle of aspirin! Thanks for helping to put things back into perspective. 😉

Comments are closed.