Your Weekend Wow!

I’ve never quite understood those early 1890’s shoulders with their massive, poofy tops. Later in the 1890’s, when the enormous leg-o-mutton sleeves were in vogue, the gathered fabric accounted for the fullness at the sleeve cap. But early in the decade such was not the case. Then this morning I found this and it all made sense. Not to mention it reminds me of spring, too.

Afternoon dress ca. 1892. Brocaded silk satin & velvet. Chiffon blouse with tailored jacket built onto it. Self-ribbons on jacket shoulders, which was common in the early 1890s. Decorative enamel buttons. Bunka Gakuen Costume Museum.

Afternoon dress ca. 1892. Brocaded silk satin & velvet. Chiffon blouse with tailored jacket built onto it. Self-ribbons on jacket shoulders, which was common in the early 1890s. Bunka Gakuen Costume Museum

2 thoughts on “Your Weekend Wow!

  1. Fortunately those BIG sleeves were only popular about 1894-96 so we can do the awesome sleeves from before and after with inpunity. I’ve got lots of inspiration photos that are still puffy but not totally ridiculous. This is lovely!
    Val

    • I do love it, and I’m not one for that type of sleeve. My favorite 1895 sleeve of all time is downright architectural – a wedding dress from the Missouri Natural History Museum

Comments are closed.